First case of Covid-19 in the Eastern Bay


The Eastern Bay has its first case of Covid-19, but details of the patient are not being revealed for reasons of privacy.

Two cases of Covid-19 were confirmed in the Bay of Plenty on Tuesday, including a male aged in his 70s who arrived in the Bay from the United States on March 24, as well as a woman aged in her 50s who arrived in the region from the United Kingdom on the same day.

On Monday, four cases were confirmed for the Bay of Plenty, including three international travellers coming from the US, the UK and Indonesia.

Most of the cases prior to that have also included people travelling from overseas.

However, health authorities are not confirming that any of these cases are the Eastern Bay case.

The number of Covid-19 cases in the Bay of Plenty has risen to 18, including the case in the Eastern Bay of Plenty, Toi Te Ora Public Health has said.

Medical Officer of Health Dr Phil Shoemack said yesterday that he did not know which part of the Eastern Bay the Covid-19 case was from and even if he did it would not be prudent to divulge details as with small towns such as Opotiki and Kawerau, or even Ohope, it would be easy to identify the person.

“At this stage we don’t have that many cases and in weeks to come the numbers will only go up.”

He said it was not only to protect the confidentiality and privacy of individuals that it was important not to reveal these details.

“The other reason for not giving too many numbers is the real risk that people will over interpret and think we have had only one case in the Eastern Bay, we don’t need to worry.

“Well, this is a pandemic, it is an infectious disease, and every part of the country is at significant risk and therefore every neighbourhood, every street every household needs to take the same precautions,” he said.

Number of confirmed and probable cases of COVID-19 (novel coronavirus) in:

New Zealand: 708

Bay of Plenty: 18

Lakes: 11

Number of confirmed cases of COVID-19 (novel coronavirus) in:

Western Bay of Plenty: 15

Eastern Bay of Plenty: 1

Rotorua: 7

Taupō: 4