WHAIORA Kopa is recognised for her generosity and contribution, also senior girls athletics. Photos Sven Carlsson OS0190-01

BEAUTIFUL weather, great performances and lovely kai set the stage for Te Kura Mana Maori o Whangaparaoa’s prize-giving on Thursday.

Principal Tuihana Pook said the day had gone very well and that she was proud of her students.

The prizegiving ceremony was held only nine days before the school sends a new contingent of its students to Europe to commemorate and experience the contribution made by Maori Battalion ancestors.

Senior awards

THE Ned Waititi Memorial Trophy for Performing Arts went to Chelsey Ngamoki; the Kevin Wheaton Trophy for generosity and contribution was granted to Arliah Emmerson-Semmens; the Rev Petera Maangi Trophy for manaakitanga went to Renee Maangi; the Moana Te Moana Sports Trophy was awarded to Manaia Rangihuna; the Taane Komene Trophy for stewardship and awhina was taken home by Tamati Semmens; the Hoani Retimana Memorial Trophy for the highest achievement in Te Reo Maori and leadership went to Peter Grant and the Prime Minister’s Prize for Excellence was awarded to Carlos Paovale

Junior awards

RECOGNITION of overall leadership in the Kura Tuatahi went to Kararaina Parata and Tukaki Tukaki; Recognition of generosity and contribution in the Kura Tuatahi went to Whaiora Kopa; Recognition of netball skills went to Kiritapu Wairua-Jamieson and Recognition of Manaakitanga went to Marara Shelford.