WITERIA Papuni, who was partnered with Brendon Richardson, compete in the pool pairs at the Opotiki RSA on Saturday. Photo John Morin D9041-243

MURIWAI Tournament organiser Tracy Hillier has welcomed the success of the 35th tournament that took place last week in good weather across locations in Opotiki.

“The bringing together of whanau from across the rohe of Muriwai and beyond to compete in this tournament is a special time and we had a fantastic atmosphere of whakawhanaungatanga,” she said.

“This year was remarkable for the fair play and exemplary conduct of the teams and players – a real credit to their hapu. It was immensely enjoyable.

“A highlight was the inaugural women’s rugby organised by Digger Wilson, whose Nga Wahine Toa team took out the final. These four sevens teams played to a high level and a great deal of interest has been shown in expanding this for next year.

“The second year of pool and darts proved to be outstanding. Mauri ora.”

Hillier thanked Ngai Tamahaua hapu who administer the annual event, and also the teams, players, coaches, stallholders and those who tautoko the codes and kindly provided koha, and the Opotiki District Council – and Tyler in particular – for the cool mowing skills.

Tournament results:


Men’s doubles final: Waiaua (Witeria Papanui/Brendon Richardson) v Ngai Tai (Keha/Dave). Trophy: D H Herewini Memorial Trophy: winners, Waiaua; runners-up Ngai Tai.
Women’s singles final: winner, Anna; runner-up, Taku.


Pano Heurea Memorial – bull’s eye finish: Tui, Pakowhai – Maori Town.
Division 1 winner: Ngai Tai; runner-up: Pakowhai – Maori Town.
Division 2 winner: Tons Up; runner- up: Opape.
Metal 180 – 171: Marty – Bailey.
Division 1 trophies: High score to Bailey (140) winner men; high score to Cerise (140) winner ladies; high finish to Marty (50) winner men; high finish to Tangi W (64) winner ladies.
Division 2 trophies: High score to Marama (160) winner men; high score to Mihi (140) winner ladies; high finish to Boyso (70) winner men; high finish to Mihi (56) winner ladies.
Senior basketball

M J Biddle Memorial – Men’s A-grade final: Opape 23, Waimana ki Tauanui 22.

Tawhiao Kingi Memorial – mixed final: Waimana ki Tauanui 18, Opape Outsiders 17.

Junior basketball – Years 3 to 6: Kawha won by default over Opape; Year 7&8 final: Kawha 28, Waimana ki Tauanui 8. Trophy donated by F. Ngatai.

Junior netball – year 1&2 final: Opape beat Whitianga; year 5&6: Torere beat Whitianga; year 7&8: Poroporo beat Tairongo.

Senior netball – Muriwai B grade final: Ngai Tai (Taff’s Angels) 27, Kurawherangi trophy for runners-up: Tairongo 7.

C grade final: Te Ehutu Paua 16, Te Ehutu 15. Trophy: TBC

Mixed final: Rochelle Tapuke Memorial – Whitianga 44, Opape Rocks 16.

Pakowhai Shield for best coach/manager A grade: Wency Rewi.

Women’s rugby (inaugural event) – winner: Nga Wahine Toa 24, Opape 7.

Senior rugby:

A grade final: Tamahaua taonga: Kura ki Uta (on points); runners-up: Hari Hari Mitai – Makeo.

Phil Hape Memorial fair play: Tairongo; Rangi Hata Memorial for best coach/manager A grade: Kura ki Uta (Te Hata/Te Amoamo).

WINNERS of the Pani Heurea Memorial Trophy bull’s eye competition. Photo supplied