WINNER: Senior nett winner Tuakana August completes a solid drive, despite the photo bomber in the background. Photo supplied

THE Kawerau Golf & Squash Club hosted the annual 54 Hole Golf Tournament over Queen’s Birthday weekend.

The main sponsor this year is The Golf Warehouse. The club had over 20 generous sponsors that meant prizes valued at more than $10,000 were on offer.

More than 60 sixty prizes were handed out at prize giving.

There were 55 twos scored over the weekend. Club spokesman Flash Rowlands said the golf course was in fantastic condition.

“A huge thank you has to go to all of the people who work so hard to ensure that this weekend goes off without any problems,” he said. “Everyone who works at the club does so on a voluntary basis. From the grounds people, to the kitchen people, to the bar staff.

Everyone works together to provide a fantastic course and a fantastic atmosphere for all to enjoy.”

The tournament had a full field of 128 players from all over the North Island and even two players from Australia.

The senior division had 54 players with 35 playing off a handicap of 5 or better.

“There would be very few clubs in New Zealand that host a tournament with such a huge field of senior players. We had a lot of Bay of Plenty pennant players in the field.

“On Saturday the day started off beautifully with no frost and a fair bit of sunshine. Unfortunately, it deteriorated during the day and we had around an hour of very cold and wet weather, which affected some of the scores, but not all of them.”

The leaders after round one were Tuakana August in the seniors, Daryll Walker and Hata Kaipara in the intermediates and Willie Copeland and Mikaere Smith in the juniors.

Sunday morning dawned with brilliant sunny conditions and not much wind.

The players kept the field moving all day and all players were in the clubhouse well before darkness.

“There were some really good scores and also some not so good scores.

“The overwhelming chat in the clubhouse was that this is one of the best tournaments in the country,” said Rowlands.


Senior nett winner, Tuakana August 198, runner-up, Glenn Tait. Senior Stableford winner, Liam McFarlane 112, runner-up, Steve Brooky. Senior gross winner, Ryan Maxwell 214, runner-up, Jordan Rangihika.
Intermediate nett wiiner, Hata Kaipara 208, runner-up, Chas Andrews. Intermediate Stableford winner, Shaun Wortel 115, runner-up, Lucky Karekare. Intermediate gross winner, Teina Te Kopua 241, runner-up, Dharmen Singh.
Junior nett winner, Willie Copeland 198, runner-up, Bill Basher. Junior Stableford winner, Chris Hiwarau 116, runner-up, Dave Waetford. Junior gross winner, Louis Hahipene 262, runner-up, Tiwai Dowie.

Trophy winners:

Warren Ruri Memorial Trophy, best nett, Tuakana August. Brian Bradley Memorial Trophy, best stableford, Willie Copeland. John Natana Memorial Trophy, best gross, Ryan Maxwell.