ROUND one is complete for Opotiki players Tynealle Fitzgerald, Leah Wilson and Helena Coughlin who play in the Mount team, while Luka Connor has been called up to the Black Ferns’ squad. File photo

THE last game of the Baywide Women’s Premier rugby competition was played on the weekend before phase two begins.

The seven women’s teams in the Baywide competition will split into premier and championship divisions, with a four- and three-team draw in the respective grades.

Phase two for both grades entails one more round robin over the next three weeks before a semi-final cross-over on July 14 and finals the following weekend on July 21.

The premier grade includes Waimana, who won by default to fellow Eastern Bay team Matata on the weekend, but were already assured of their place having been in fourth place overall on the standings with four wins from six games.

They are joined by top-of-the table Rangiuru who have won all their games bar a 20-all draw with Whakarewarewa in the season opener.

Rangataua is second on the table overall having only lost to Rangiuru. Whakarewarewa is third with the draw and also a loss

Although sitting at fourth, Waimana has made significant improvements over the season so far, with a 26-15 win over Whakarewarewa, and then a thumping of Rotoiti 61-0.

The championship division will give Rotoiti, Matata and Mount Sports an opportunity to give their players more experience and rebuild confidence with more even games.

In spite of only having only two teams representing the Eastern Bay, there are players from Opotiki, Whakatane and Kawerau in other teams, including Mount and Rangiuru.

Opotiki players Tynealle Fitzgerald, Leah Wilson and Helena Coughlin are in the Mount team.

Most notably, Opotiki’s Black Ferns player Luka Connor has been playing for Rangataua before her call-up to the national side, who are about to embark on the Super Series in the United States in a few weeks.

Phase two restarts the following weekend as premier grade teams Rangiuru, Rangataua and Whakarewarewa are competing in the Battle of the Kaimais in Te Awamutu this Sunday.

For Waimana, the new round kicks off on Sunday, June 23 with a home game against Whakarewarewa. Matata has a bye.