THE eight-year-old girls are full of enthusiasm as they head out on to the course. D8609-18

WITH a record number of competitors and plenty of supporters, there was an estimated 500 people at Woodlands School on Tuesday for the primary schools’ regional cross-country event.

Sport Bay of Plenty spokeswoman Exia Edwards said everyone who attended the Eastern Bay of Plenty Schools Cross- Country Championships was treated to perfect conditions and awesome races.

“Woodlands is, as you all know, a great outlook with amazing viewing of all races,” she said.

“These great conditions may have played a part in the fact that all but one race was faster than last year’s times.”

Edwards said a record number of more than 370 runners took part in the competition.

There were about 500 people at the event including spectators.

“They came from all over the Eastern Bay and we had competitors from as far as Lake Waikaremoana to Te Kaha,” she said.

“Overall cluster champs were the Rangitaiki cluster, Whakatane came in second and the newly-formed Tuhoe cluster most certainly made their debut into the EBOP Cross Country known with many top-five placings, claiming themselves a very worthy third.”

Edwards said the top 15 runners from each race qualified to attend the Bay of Plenty Cross-Country Championships, to be held at Kaharoa School in Rotorua on June 25.


Eight-year girls: 1, Addison Davis, St Joseph’s (Whk); 2, Kyrah Hadler, Ohope; 3, Pounamu Rangiaho, Kawerau Putauaki; 4, Phoebe Jones, Allandale; 5, Maliya Sellwood, Thornton; boys: 1, Joshua Spalding, Awakeri; 2, Marama Te Aho, Apanui; 3, Shay Surman, Edgecumbe; 4, Mihaere Gillies, Awakeri; 5, Nicholas McLeary, St Joseph’s (Whk).

Nine-year girls: 1, Ariana Dawson, Thornton; 2, Elie Mees, Otakiri; 3, Harriett Milne, Ohope; 4, Elena Marxen-Short, Ohope; 5, Jayda Smith, Awakeri; boys: 1, Bailey Le Prou, Awakeri; 2, Bryan Leitch, Awakeri; 3, Alexander Whiteman, Awakeri; 4, Taimana Te Aho, Apanui ; 5, Brody Sedgman, Kawerau South.

10-year girls: 1, Lily Hipkiss, Apanui; 2, Danielle Bach-Christensen, Awakeri; 3, Aramia Hanlen, Awakeri; 4, Wenarata Teepa, Te Whare o Ruatoki; 5, Waikare Hare, Te Whare o Ruatoki; boys: 1, Freddie Evans, Ohope; 2, Sean Jones, Allandale; 3, Sonny Tiwha-Smith, Awakeri; 4, Caign Boonen, Apanui; 5, Noah Vullings, Apanui.

11-year girls: 1, Cassidy Raiha, Tarawera High; 2, Alexia Peake, Ashbrook; 3, Hinerangi Nicholas, Te Wharekura o Ruatoki; 4, Shakira Hill, Matata School; 5, Prayer, Palyle, Tarawera High; boys: 1, Oscar Milne, Ohope; 2, Ryan Somervulle, Awakeri; 3, Te Are Hare, Te Wharekura o Ruatoki; 4, Ben Peat, Awakeri; 5, Daimin Hudson, Opotiki Primary.

12-year girls: 1, Waimania Rangiaho, Tarawera High; 2, Zennah Andrew Maui, Waiotahe Valley; 3, Lauren Powell, Edgecumbe; 4, Tirarangi Heurea, Te Wharekura o Ruatoki; 5, Mihiata Teepa, Te Wharekura o Ruatoki; boys: 1, Joseph Spalding, Awakeri; 2, Tipa Jo Koinaki, Te Wharekura o Ruatoki; 3, Tahi Tait-Ropitini, TKKM o Waioweka; 4, Toko Turipa, Te Kura o Waikaremoana; 5, Shaun Morton-McCann, Edgecumbe.
Overall results: Rangitaiki 60, Whakatane 45, Tuhoe 18, Kawerau 15, Opotiki 12.