ON ATTACK: Beau Henry plays the ball as Whakatane High School team-mate Codi Laurent watches. Photos Julie Maree Photography

WHAKATANE teams competed at the New Zealand Secondary School Beacon Volleyball Championships at Mount Maunganui at the weekend.

The championships had three age groups which included Trident and Whakatane high schools’ teams.

Trident’s Jack Oswald and Tawari Stanley were runners-up in the senior boy’s division. The pair dropped just one set on their way to the play-offs and maintained that form to the final, again only dropping one set in the semi-final against a Tauranga Boys College pairing.

Jack and Tawari were beaten by a Spotswood College team in the final. Whakatane High School’s Rihari Jobe and Laney Johnston won the second division.

The Whakatane team of Codi Laurent and Beau Henry also earned a runners-up medal.

They lost once on the way to the year 10 and 11 boys’ final where they lost to a Hillcrest High School team. Caden Laurent and Campbell Forsyth were beaten quarter-finalists.

Whakatane’s Caitlin Studer and Emily Julian made it to the round of 16 play-offs in the senior girls’ division, as did Trident pairing Sommer Curtis and Harmony Wardlaw.

Whakatane’s Tayla Jones and Branagh Overington made the round of 16 in the year 10 and 11 girls’ division.

In the year 9 boys’ section, Jamie Julian and Isaac Marshall placed fourth after beating fellow Whakatane team Oliver Forsyth and Daniel Beck in the quarter-finals.